Presently the community is governed by a local government authority called the Kalinago Council. This institution was enacted through an act of parliament during the Country’s independence project in 1978. The Ouboutou (Kalinago Chief) and members of the Kalinago council are elected through popular adult suffrage. The office of Ouboutou and that of the members of council are selected through two separate elections.

The Kalinago Community is also served by a Parliamentary Representative who is voted for at the constituency level. The Kalinago Territory and the village of Atkinson are therefore merged into what is legally called the Salybia Constituency.